Today marks the six-year anniversary of a day that is said to be one that will live in infamy.  A day that gave young people one of their first glimpses of terrorism as well as the bravery and sacrifice of our President and many rescue workers.

 Because this marks the anniversary, I have seen several video/picture tributes that various people have put together commemorating this event.  They all bear the same message: Don’t forget.  Those pictures and the video footage are shocking.  They are sad.  They are sobering.  They bring tears.  They are painful.

Yes, I agree with my fellow Americans…we must not forget this event or others like it.  We must not forget or take for granted those who are sacrificing their lives to protect American citizens.  We must not forget the families of those who died in the September 11 attack.

But more importantly…we must not forget to pray.  Pray for the families.  Pray for the friends.  Pray for our President.  Pray for the terrorists.  Pray for America.

We must not forget the God who has given us America.  God who has given us freedom.

 1 Chronicles 7:14, “if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”

Those who are called by His name.  Christians.  I used to think that verse was for the non-Christians.  Those who were not seeking the Lord.  But, no…we are the ones who are to humble ourselves.  We are the ones to repent.  The implications are amazing.  In the past few days, God has been showing me so many ways that this verse can be played out.  It’s astounding.

So, yes…remember September 11. 

Pray.

And humbly repent.

-Bonnie